Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

50+ Reasons to Join La Leche League

on October 7, 2013

                                                      Quotes from mothers

 

  • It’s the best place to join a community of breastfeeding mothers and babies!
  • I enjoy spending my time with like-minded women. Women who support me and my child as well as my husband. Every meeting is something to look forward to and I dislike missing a single one. LLL has given me a full circle type feeling because my mom was a member and brought my brother and I when we were babies and toddlers. It feels good to be with people who don’t judge me on anything. I feel completely at ease and comfortable when I walk into a meeting. I’m proud to be a breastfeeding mom and woman. Breastfeeding has given more to my life with my daughter than I ever imagined it would. My daughter was sick when she was born and I knew with all that I was, that breastfeeding was the very best. I had attended meetings all through my pregnancy. The stories and women I met there as well as my family, gave me the confidence to push for a pump, room-in (both my husband and I) and to always be with my daughter to give her the best. LLL is a part of our breastfeeding relationship.
  • I wanted to be around other mothers who share the same philosophy of breastfeeding as I do.
  • I find support not just for breastfeeding but for a loving way of parenting that fits my intuitive style.563292_372237829487436_1534032804_n
  • I was fortunate enough to have a friend who shared this wonderful gift with me. I would never have survived breastfeeding this long (15 months) without La Leche League. Thank you.
  • I want La Leche League to be around for other mothers too.
  • It is the only place where I can let my family be its true self without having to hide our values.
  • I became a member to connect with other women.
  • It’s more than just breastfeeding information. It’s about how breastfeeding fits into the family dynamic.
  • Nothing is as important as empowering and supporting mothers and families to do what they know in their hearts is best for their babies.
  • I love breastfeeding!! I know it is the best possible start to my son’s life and the bond we now share is incredible. I love being with other Moms who share the idea that “breast is best!” I like the fact that my membership helps out other Moms too! The more, the better!
  • I am member because of how inspiring I found it when LLL philosophy was discussed in one of my early meetings. It was like coming home. Finally a group of moms who felt as I did, not just about breastfeeding but about general parenting style and nutrition as well.
  • I think it is incredibly important for moms to feel supported, especially since breastfeeding is not always supported by our culture. It feels great to be in a room full of moms doing similar things as you!
  • Where do I start? La Leche League has given me some of my closest friends. LLL has given me confidence in mothering my children by following my heart. LLL has given me confidence in my career as a teacher to listen to my instincts. LLL has given me an understanding of how and why my relationship with my husband has changed. LLL has helped me to understand that I am not alone. LLL is one of the greatest things that has ever happened to me.
  • I was an expecting mother wanting to give the best to our child. Having a Prolactinoma Tumor and expecting problems with breastfeeding I wanted the best support with LLLC.
  • I love nursing my baby and love the support I get from the wonderful La Leche League ladies!series meeting
  • LLLC helped me prepare for the realities of breastfeeding my babies. By going to meetings every month, I felt bolstered by those around me. I continue to feel a strong sense of community in attending these meetings. Now that I am a more experienced mom, I enjoy going to see friends and to help welcome newcomers. It feels very rewarding to help new moms feel that they are making good choices for their children and to help them see that they can achieve their own successful breastfeeding relationship to the benefit of all!
  • This organization cares about breastfeeding around the world. This organization is known all over the world and is totally committed to spreading the breastfeeding message to help feed nations in a healthy way.
  • I want this organization to continue and be here for my daughters, future daughters-in-law and future grandchildren.
  • I so often hear mothers say such wise things at meetings that I find myself repeating them to others time and time again.
  • I believe in the benefits of breastfeeding and wish to share that with other mothers who believe the same.
  • We needed extended family around who didn’t judge our parenting. La Leche League meets that need.
  • It is a validating and positive group atmosphere.
  • Breastfeeding is simply the most important thing I do for my baby.
  • After two children and over three years of continuous breastfeeding, I get inspiration, support, fellowship and information that helps make me a better mother.
  • I continue to be a member for the satisfaction of helping other mothers.
  • I love the camaraderie between the moms who belong to our group. We have an active email list where we can share information between meetings – these moms are definitely a fountain of knowledge!
  • Because I never want to forget my nursing baby days!
  • When I was at home struggling with my high-need baby, I made a phone call to a LLL Leader and I was happy and reassured that I was doing everything ok. I’m still breastfeeding and my daughter is 16 months and I am a member because I enjoy the meetings and need the support as I encounter new challenges with baby’s development.Mothering Journey
  • It has helped support my ongoing breastfeeding journey.
  • To feel part of this huge international organization that is for one purpose – to help mothers breastfeed their babies (and achieve world peace along the way)!
  • I believe in the power of mothers supporting mothers.
  • My mom was a member.
  • I can get information on all stages of breastfeeding, from pregnancy to newborn to toddlers to weaning.
  • Because I love to share ideas and concerns with other mothers who are breastfeeding!! I love coming here to read other mothers’ issues!
  • I am supported in my extended nursing relationship.
  • It’s fun to be part of a larger, international network of nursing moms and babies.
  • I want to provide the best possible start for both my baby and myself (as a new mom).
  • I enjoy the sense of belonging that it gives me. I felt very welcomed at my very first meeting, and now look forward to each monthly meeting and the mix of old and new faces who arrive. I feel like LLLC provides my son and me with an extremely valuable opportunity to meet in our community with other families who share our views about the importance of breastfeeding.
  • I want to support breastfeeding awareness and support in a bottle-feeding and early weaning culture (especially if you nurse past 6 months or so).
  • Our society does not offer enough affirmation of breastfeeding to make it the standard for “normal.”
  • I love to borrow books from our Group library! Our library has many titles that I was not able to find in my local public library, and I saved a fortune by avoiding purchasing the books myself. Group libraries are great for moms who love to read!WAB
  • I love supporting moms and children and I believe in LLL philosophies.
  • I want breastfeeding support to still be there when my children have children, so that extended nursing and the parenting that goes with it will be more accepted and supported.
  • When I found out my daughter was going to need a long hospital stay I knew that my first phone call would be to my LLLC leader. I have had no better support through her surgery than this Leader and she has always been only a phone call away!
  • It’s a great way to meet moms I have something in common with.
  • It has helped me connect with other moms and babes when I was new to the community.
  • I believe it is the one thing that has such a far-reaching ripple effect in healing this world. While helping women to breastfeed we are creating a healthier future for our children and our planet.
  • Because LLLC group libraries have an amazing resource of good parenting books.
  • I love getting together with other mothers who help me find the confidence to be the kind of mom I want to be!
  • I had difficulties breastfeeding my first daughter and because of LLL and my dedicated midwife overcame them. I now have another beautiful daughter and have overcome a lot of different situations in my three years of breastfeeding!
  • I love being supported by other mothers who share my values and philosophy around extended nursing, baby-wearing and attachment parenting.
  • Because I am a member I have learned communication skills.
  • To ‘know’ that when you meet another member, you have met a new friend.

To donate to La Leche League Canada, please go to our website http://www.lllc.ca/ .

 

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are strongly encouraged to talk directly to a La Leche League Leader.  In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group  or Internationally http://www.llli.org/

DSC_5064

2 responses to “50+ Reasons to Join La Leche League

  1. mommab says:

    What a beautiful blog and great way to share LLL information! I am with LLL in the US and was wondering if I could use your photo of the LLL group on our local website?

Your Comments are Welcome

