Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Rest When Your Baby Rests

on April 14, 2014

 

Rest when your baby rests.  So many people say this to you when you have your new baby, but it is so hard to get a grasp on this one.

When the baby sleeps seems like the only time to get anything else done.  I find that if I try to put my baby to sleep after she dozes off from nursing, she wakes up shortly after, with me in the middle of a chore, now torn between my baby and task completion.  My baby wins.

download (98)
But when we both sit down for a nursing session and my baby falls asleep, and I allow myself to relax for a time (be it with a magazine, soft music, or even closing my eyes) I find that my baby sleeps more deeply and longer than if I try to get things done.  And I feel a bit better too, because I allowed myself the luxury of lounging with the soft scents of my baby.

By taking that rest while my baby rests with me, we can then get up together and start fresh with our day.  And that usually allows me to get a few chores done while my baby relaxes in a carrier, happy and full and content to be with me.

By Lara, retired La Leche League Canada Leader

 

Mama and her baby blissing out

 

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are encouraged to talk directly to a La Leche League Leader.  In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group or Internationally http://www.llli.org/

 

 

 

 

 

Your Comments are Welcome

