Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Breastfeeding and Pregnancy

on November 4, 2014

Nursing through pregnancy; is it possible?

When a woman finds out she is pregnant and she is already nursing a little one, both she and others may question whether nursing during the pregnancy should continue.

Most mothers find that their milk supply starts to drop around the 20th week of the pregnancy. Some babies will happily continue nursing in-spite of the decreased milk supply and others will wean at some point during the pregnancy. Toddlers over a year old, who are eating solids and drinking fluids from a cup, are more likely to continue to nurse for comfort as their nutritional needs are being met in other ways. Very young nursing babies may need supplementation to meeting the nutritional needs of their rapidly growing bodies and brains.

download (11)

 

In the first trimester many mothers have found that nursing is uncomfortable as their nipples are very sensitive. Often this irritation dimishes after the first trimester. Mothers who want to continue to breastfed may find distracting themselves with a book, television program or connecting with others via social media helpful. Relaxation techniques used during labour such as slow breathing may also be useful. With older toddlers limiting the length of the nursing by counting, saying the alphabet or singing a specific song might be a compromise both of you can live with.

Many people worry that breastfeeding will cause uterine contractions and increase the potential for a miscarriage. The research doesn’t support this theory. Nursing while in labour will significantly speed up contractions but until the body is hormonally ready to go into labour breastfeeding won’t cause it to do so.

dddownload

 

The decision to continue to nurse during a pregnancy is a very personal and individual one. It is often made one day at a time or even one nursing at a time.

If you have questions about nursing during a pregnancy or how to wean because of a pregnancy your local La Leche League Leader is a great resource.

http://www.lllc.ca/thursday-tip-breastfeeding-and-pregnancy

 

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are strongly encouraged to talk directly to a La Leche League Leader.  In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group or Internationally http://www.llli.org/

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Breastfeeding and Pregnancy

  1. S. Pilgrim says:

    Had no problems nursing through pregnancy. I agree with the “nursing for comfort” remark. When my milk came in after his sibling was born my almost 3-year-old said, “That’s good milk”! He never commented on the amount or taste of my milk while I was pregnant. By the way, both kids are in their thirties, and healthy.

  2. Dee says:

    This article is true. I was breastfeeding my toddler while I was pregnant with my second baby. I was worried while my breast milk supply stopped in second trimester or so but my told let didn’t have any problem, he was happy that he was breastfed although no milk. And breastfeeding did not whatsoever triggered uterine contraction. And when my second baby was born milk supply cake back, and my toddler was very happy to have breast milk again along with her baby sister. I was worried if I had enough breast milk for both my toddler and newborn, but my worry was meaningless as my body produced enough milk for both. If I didn’t feed one of them, I got enogorged, so I pumped and saved it for later.
    So anyone pregnant and want to continue breatfeeding in pregnancy, go ahead !! Our bodies are smart and it knows what is going on… 🙂
    Thanks
    Dee

Your Comments are Welcome

