Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Christmas Baby

on December 22, 2014

My last baby was born 6 days before Christmas – 3 weeks early – after a high-risk pregnancy. All my previous pregnancies had been normal with natural births, so this was a completely unexpected, new experience for me which required some adaptation. It took a bit of planning when we realized that we were going to have a baby around Christmastime: I’d either be 8 1/2 months pregnant or giving birth or holding my new baby in my arms.

That year, we cut down our Christmas tree 2 weeks early. I insisted on keeping that tradition for the children even though I waddled to the first tree and picked it while the kids ran around in the snow having fun and my husband worried that I was going to give birth right there in the field! We had already made/bought and wrapped all the gifts by the end of November. As with my other babies, I prepared meals ahead of time and froze them to use after the baby was born. We always stocked up on groceries too, ensuring that we would have enough supplies for at least a month (only “milk and bread runs”).

download (72)

 

Baby Melvin was born naturally in the birthing room and remained with me for the entire 18 hours before we came home. Hospital protocol stated that babies of diabetic mothers were supposed to be “monitored” in the high risk nursery.  However, I negotiated with the staff that I would ‘monitor’ my own baby, skin-to-skin while breastfeeding him around the clock in my own room and allow staff to conduct newborn blood glucose screening.

My older children had already been in to see their new baby brother but when I arrived home later that day, it was like Christmas morning! Excitement oozed for days! A few visitors stopped by but thankfully most people were busy with their own holiday plans.

Even though I was an experienced Mother of 7, La Leche League Leader, and IBCLC (International Board Certified Lactation Consultant), I had problems breastfeeding! But I think the lack of sleep was the hardest. I had to recover from a complicated pregnancy and my body needed more rest than before. So I basically went to the quietness of my bedroom with my baby to nap every few hours. Oh, my youngest kids still burst into the room for a snuggle or a nap too, but that was okay. My husband was home to completely look after the other children (take them skating or to friends for play dates) and take over all the work on the home front like meals and laundry. All I had to do was rest while nursing my baby. Between Christmas and New Years, we ‘scheduled’ guests to come for short visits so it was not too overwhelming for our family because holidays and new babies are typically stressful times.

Planning for meals and Christmas ahead of time was crucial in the smooth transition of welcoming our new baby for Christmas.

picasso

 

http://www.lllc.ca/christmas-baby

 

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are strongly encouraged to talk directly to a La Leche League Leader.  In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group or Internationally http://www.llli.org/

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Christmas Baby

  1. Clairinette says:

    Preparing meals ahead of time and freezing them, as well as asking friends to drop by with a meal for us was a life saver during the first two weeks after our little girl birth.

  2. Sheila says:

    Thank you for sharing this story. I really liked hearing about your Christmas baby and how it went for you at such a wonderful time of year and of your family’s life. I have 3 brothers and they were all born around the Christmas-New Year’s time so I have some similar memories for our family too.

Your Comments are Welcome

