Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

New Year’s Resolutions for Breastfeeding Mothers

on December 28, 2015

It is the time of year when many people make resolutions for the coming year.  Here are a few, plus some links, to sensible resolutions for breastfeeding mothers. Have a happy and healthy new year!

 

  1. I will rest when baby is sleeping and not feel that I need to put him down and “do something”.

 

  1. I will drink to thirst and try to remember to keep water handy to my nursing corners.

 

  1. I will eat when I am hungry and try to eat healthfully while recognizing that a perfect diet is not necessary for me to breastfeed my baby.

 

  1. If a friend offers to make me a meal or to fold some laundry for me, I will say “YES!”

 

  1. I will do my best to let go of the non-urgent household chores for a while.

 

  1. If I need breastfeeding help or encouragement I will contact La Leche League

 

  1. I will watch my baby and not the clock to tell me how often to nurse.

 

  1. I will listen to my mothering instincts and remember that I am the expert on my baby.

 

  1. I will smile and say “thank you for thinking about us” when someone offers unsolicited breastfeeding advice.

 

  1. I will breastfeed wherever and whenever my baby needs to be fed.

 

  1. I will support other breastfeeding families with words of encouragement or a smile as we pass in the mall, by sharing my breastfeeding experiences at La Leche League meetings, or making a donation to help to continue the work of La Leche League.

 

  1. Last, but not least, I will enjoy my baby 🙂

 

If you are thinking about making some dietary resolutions you might enjoy reading our 2013 year end blog post here.

 

download (79)

 

http://www.lllc.ca/thursday-tip-new-year%E2%80%99s-resolutions-breastfeeding-mothers

 

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are strongly encouraged to talk directly to an accredited La Leche League Leader.  In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group or Internationally http://www.llli.org/

 

If you have found this article helpful, La Leche League Canada would appreciate your support in the form of a donation at http://www.lllc.ca/join-lllc-friends so we can continue to help others breastfeed. Thank you!

 

 

One response to “New Year’s Resolutions for Breastfeeding Mothers

  1. Andrea says:

    Almost 50 years ago, your organization helped me breastfeed my son and later my daughter in Fargo, ND. Their support was invaluable. To this day I am very grateful. I am glad to hear there are still mothers supporting mothers.

Your Comments are Welcome

