Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

My First La Leche League Meeting

on February 15, 2016

Just a few weeks after my first baby was born, I got up the courage to go to a La Leche League meeting.  Why did I go?  Because I had a problem.  In the hospital, they’d taught me to breastfeed in one position, and while it worked, it was increasingly awkward as my baby, Matthew, grew bigger.  Nursing was going okay, but I wanted to be able to sit on a bench in the mall and feed my baby in a more relaxed, comfortable position.  Every time I tried to latch him on that way, he’d just cry, like he didn’t know what I was trying to do.
I thought maybe someone at La Leche League could help me figure it out.
I was kind of nervous about going, though. I had no idea what to expect.  Was it going to be like a class?  Would there be a test? (I hoped not, because I’d probably fail.)  Would the other mothers be weird?  Would they think I was an idiot because I couldn’t figure out how to breastfeed in a different position?

download (83)

 
The first thing I saw when I walked in the door was a mother sitting on the couch and nursing twins.  Twins!  I didn’t even know that was possible.  Then I noticed a toddler walk over to her mother, plop herself in her lap, and start to nurse.  I’d never seen a baby that old breastfeeding before, either.  There were also some pregnant women and other mothers with little babies, just like me.
Once the meeting got going, I relaxed. It wasn’t like a class at all, and the other mothers had plenty of questions and things they wanted to talk about.  It wasn’t just me.  When I asked about how to nurse in different positions, several mothers had suggestions.  One showed me that I could latch Matthew on in the position I’d been taught, and then gently shift into the position I wanted to use.  It worked!  There I was, looking like the Madonna in one of those classic paintings, nursing my baby.
Not only had I gotten the practical help I needed, I’d learned a lot and made some new friends.  That turned out to be just the first of many LLL meetings I attended, and by the time I’d had baby number two, I was a volunteer Leader myself.  I know, though, that I’ll never forget that first meeting.

by Teresa
http://www.lllc.ca/my-first-la-leche-league-meeting

If you need more information or have a breastfeeding problem or concern, you are strongly encouraged to talk directly to an accredited La Leche League Leader. In Canada, Leaders can be located by clicking http://www.lllc.ca/find-group or Internationally http://www.llli.org/.

If you have found this article helpful, La Leche League Canada would appreciate your support in the form of a donation at http://www.lllc.ca/join-lllc-friends so we can continue to help others breastfeed. Thank you!

Meeting

One response to “My First La Leche League Meeting

Your Comments are Welcome

